SparkFun gets a cease and Desist
posted Oct 23rd 2009 12:30pm by Caleb Kraftfiled under: news

[Nate] over at SparkFun Electronics has posted a cease and desist letter he received from SPARC industries. Apparently their legal department feels that his name is close enough to theirs to ignite a legal battle. They are demanding that he transfer his domain to them immediately to extinguish the flames. This all seems a bit silly, his name isn’t really at all like theirs and his product isn’t similar either. To add to the peculiarity of this, going to their site throws up a big red malware warning for us (in chrome).
[thanks IraqiGeek]








What idiots…
On firefox I get:
Reported Attack Site!
This web site at http://www.sparc.org has been reported as an attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.
Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.
Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.
Yeah, go sparkfun, they got nothing on you…